Desserts By Lauren

Mother, Baker, Cake Creator!

A quest for “High Ratio” shortening

Even if you bake, you may have never heard of “High Ratio” shortening.  I only heard about for the first time about a year ago.  I looked around at all my local stores, but couldn’t find it.  It wasn’t urgent, so I put it in the back of my mind, never to be thought about again… until….

I have a very large order coming up.  My very first wedding cake!!!!  Accompanied by a lot of cupcakes!   I am soooo excited about this!  The amount of cake may not seem like a lot to some, but each tier is going to be 6 layers and the cake is going to be 5 tiers.  So… lets do the math…. 6×5… that’s 30 cakes that need to be baked.  A 6″, 8″, 10″, 12″, 14″.  Luckily I have 2 sheet pans that I can cut a 6″, 8″ and 10″ out of, so that will greatly reduce my baking load!  So now i’m down to 18 cakes that need to be baked.  (plus cupcakes)

Ok… so back to the shortening… This cake is going to be a very simple, elegant white buttercream cake.  In all my research, the best way to get a perfectly smooth cake, you need high ratio shortening.  I have found several on-line suppliers, but the shipping is usually quite expensive.  Last night I bit the bullet and ordered 2- 4lb tubs! I can’t wait for it to get here so I can practice!

Has anyone else had experience using High Ratio shortening?  I’m not sure what to expect.  From what I understand, it makes for a very light and fluffy frosting that’s super smooth.

This is the recipe i’m considering trying first:

Fluffy Vanilla Buttercream using all Hi Ratio shortening: (recipe from MyCakeSchool.com)

2 cups (386 g) hi ratio shortening
2 Tablespoons (24 g) clear vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon (2 g) butter flavoring
1/4 teaspoon (1 g) lemon or almond flavoring
2 lbs. (910 g) confectioners’ sugar
2/3 cup (160 g) milk or heavy cream (you get a softer crust using heavy cream)
1/2 teaspoon (2 g) salt ( I use popcorn salt because of its fine grain or let your salt dissolve in your liquid (the milk/cream)

Cream the shortening and flavorings . Add the confectioners’ sugar and cream, mixing slowing and gradually increasing speed . Mix approx. 8 min. until creamy and smooth.
This is still sweet though the salt cuts some of the sweetness.

If you are seeing what looks like bubbles  that have burst (small circles) in your buttercream, continue to add milk a teaspoon at a time until most  of them  disappear.

3 comments on “A quest for “High Ratio” shortening

  1. Alexis Moore
    July 8, 2012

    let me know how it turns out! I have to try it

    • dessertsbylauren
      July 11, 2012

      I can’t wait to try it! It arrived yesterday in a completely smashed box, but luckily it was not damaged. I will be working on cupcakes today and then I will be away for a few days. But next week I will be trying it for sure!!!!!

    • dessertsbylauren
      July 24, 2012

      I have to post a new blog about it, but in short… I LOVED it!!!! It wasn’t too sweet at all and it spread amazingly. I actually used a different recipe though that I will post. I used a little bit of butter in it in place of the all shortening version. I will try to post tonight.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 5, 2012 by in Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

